

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CCHSRA WOULD LIKE TO THANK THOSE WHO VOTED "NO"

Hanford, CA July 7, 2012 – Kings County-based Citizens for California High Speed Rail Accountability (CCHSRA) would like to personally thank the California Senators and Assembly Members who voted their conscience by placing the people of their state before their political party by voting NO. The Senate voted on Friday to provide bond funding to the California High-Speed Rail Authority (CHSRA). It was a very close decision much like California Proposition 1A, High-Speed Rail Act (2008).

We especially commend three senior Senate members who were the most versed in high-speed rail issues and thus voted NO to fund CHSRA: Senators Joseph S. Simitian (D-Palo Alto), Mark DeSaulnier (D-Concord) and Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach). We also thank Senator Joel Anderson (R-Alpine), Senator Sam Blakeslee (R-San Luis Obispo), Senator Anthony Cannella (R-Ceres), Senator Bob Dutton (R-Rancho Cucamonga), Senator Jean Fuller (R-Bakersfield), Senator Ted Gaines (R-Rocklin), Senator Tom Harman (R-Huntington Beach), Senator Bob Huff (R-Diamond Bar), Senator Doug La Malfa (R-Redding), Senator Fran Pavley (D-Santa Monica), Senator Tony Strickland (R-Moorpark), Senator Mimi Walters (R-Laguna Niguel) and Senator Mark Wyland (R-Escondido) who all voted NO to fund CHSRA.

CCHSRA would also like to thank the Assembly Members who voted NO to fund CHSRA: Katcho Achadjian (R-San Luis Obispo), Bill Berryhill (R-Stockton), Connie Conway (R-Tulare), Paul Cook (R-Yucaipa), Tim Donnelly (R-Claremont), Nathan Fletcher (I-San Diego), Beth Gaines (R-Rocklin), Martin Garrick (R-Carlsbad), Jeff Gorell (R-Camarillo), Shannon L. Grove (R-Bakersfield), Curt Hagman (R-Chino Hills), Linda Halderman (R-Fresno), Diane L. Harkey (R-Dana Point), Kevin Jeffries (R-Lake Elsinore), Brian W. Jones (R-El Cajon), Steve Knight (R-Antelope Valley), Dan Logue (R-Chico), Allan Mansoor (R-Costa Mesa), Jeff Miller (R-Corona), Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga), Brian Nestande (R-Palm Desert), Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber), Kristin Olsen (R-Modesto), Jim Silva (R-Huntington Beach), Cameron Smyth (R-Santa Clarita), David G. Valadao (R-Hanford) and Donald P. Wagner (R-Irvine).

We are very disappointed by our local state representative Michael Rubio (D-Bakersfield) who did end up supporting the project and ignoring the pleas of his constituents in both Kern and Kings County. This verifies that knowledge is not what governs the decision making process in Sacramento. His vote was a determining factor in the legislation being passed on Friday by the Senate.

Our organization will continue to focus our efforts on protecting the environment, economic and social fabric of our agricultural communities from the poorly planned and executed California High Speed Rail Project. We also encourage people to join forces with us and ReVote Rail (http://www.revoterail.com/) to collect signatures allowing voters a second chance at voting on this project.

CCHRSA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy group based in Kings County whose members reside in the city and rural areas, along with other Californians who are affected by the high-speed rail. The group has been in the forefront since June 2011 attempting to get the California High-Speed Rail Authority and its board to be in full compliance with Proposition 1A which the state's voters passed in November 2008.